Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Happy Stitches For Us All November 18, 2013

Some of the best forms of a teacher’s pay are the comments from students. One of the classes I teach when travelling, “A Phoenix from the Ashes” has brought me many remarks along the lines of “life changing”.

Image

I’ve been finding myself teaching in all kinds of interesting places of late, but it’s my happy students who keep me coming back again and again!

In truth, it’s the students who inspire me to continue traveling and keep teaching.   I started off as an instructor at local Guilds, shops and events.  Over time, I was asked to teach knitters in more and different locations.  Then my team and I decided to explore teaching “on film” and the DVD series was born (I had never intended to film so many titles, but I have a lot to share and, in truth, I still keep finding more!).  Somewhere in there, I wrote two books.  About three years ago, I was approached by Knit Companion’s Sally Holt, followed by an offer to teach a Craftsy course.  Now we’re busy with the Double Knitting Club, which is based mainly on visual demonstrations and teaching of new techniques.  In between all of this, in my free time, I have created a YouTube Channel and started filming clips from home.

As you can see, my teaching has found all sorts of new forms, and each brings its unique qualities.

What I still love best, though, is the interaction and feedback from students.  It’s always fun to build a relationship based on a shared passion, even if, in the end, it is more of an email correspondence, or a chat through social channels.

Image

It’s always fun to find new friends who share my passion for knitting!

I recently received an email from one of my knitting friends.  She had made a beautiful cabled sweater, only to discover a glaring imperfection while blocking the finished garment.  Below is what she wrote, and some photos of her wonderful work:

Hi Lucy,

Image

Note the miscrossed cable on the left panel

I discovered this mis-crossed cable WHILE BLOCKING this sweater. With the

help of your brilliant ‘daring fix’ video, I was able to fix it! Thank you,

thank you!

Image

This is a delightful example of a superb rescue made on a fully completed sweater – all done without opening a seam or removing a neckband.

I can only imagine the horror that the sight of the wrongly crossed cable caused, especially when it was only spotted when blocking the finished sweater. However the triumph, I’m sure, was all the sweeter.

This fix was achieved using the method shown in Cable Fun – Part 4 (Daring surgical fix)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8ug3FrgZ3Y

I’m so glad it came in handy!

Happy Stitches!

Sign up for my YouTube channel Lucyknit and then you will be notified of new videos. The full collection can be accessed (without the distraction of watching someone wrapping a cat in Christmas paper) from your personal Notebook on my website too (this service is free for all registered users).

 

8 Responses to “Happy Stitches For Us All”

  1. Barbie O. in Montreal Says:

    AARRRRGGGHHHH!! I KNEW I should have looked for this in your YouTube repertoire–literally finished laddering 4 sts down 184 rows to recross a mis-crossed cable on the wedding blanket, then re-knit cable all the way back up. Took all weekend but finally back to actually knitting across the entire row. Le sigh. Must bookmark this daring surgical fix for next time! Cheers, Barbie O.

  2. ecc-europe.weebly.com Says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  3. Dennis Johnston Says:

    Great fi Barb…when are you coming back home to Tancook!!!!

    • Barb or me? Knitting on the Wild Side September 14 for Barbie! If not before. I’m planning on next week – I’m in withdrawal currently, dreaming about the island.

      • Dennis Johnston Says:

        Both of you, haven’t had chance to knit with you in months. Of course I had to have a typo, “fi” instead of “fix”. Hope to see you on your next visit So you have decided on Sept 14 for another “Wild Week”, you can count on me for a “Tea Party” if you like.

  4. FYI
    the sweater is the pattern is from Carla Scott’s Craftsy class (called Custom Cabled Pullovers).


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,660 other followers