Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Wishing You a Warm and Flower-Filled Start to the New Year! January 4, 2014

Filed under: DK Club,Double-layer knitting,General Musings,home,Knitting Topics — Lucy Neatby @ 08:38
Poseidon the Cat came to us this Christmas season and will stay as a semipermanent house guest.  He has certainly made himself at home; here he is, sitting comfortably in the samples!

Poseidon the Cat came to us this Christmas season and will stay on as a semipermanent house guest. He has certainly made himself at home: here he is, sitting comfortably amongst the samples!

I’ve made it through another holiday season; I hope you have, too!

The chaos here is starting to abate. It’s been a delightful and very busy Christmas. We were fortunate in so many ways, having had many wonderful things to celebrate and mark: reunions, birthdays, successful house hunting (for my son), safe arrivals, visiting friends and forthcoming departures, to say nothing of the usual seasonal happenings.

The original Zinnia is still growing in my DK garden!

The original Zinnia is still growing in my DK garden!

I’ve been contentedly knitting  throughout the entire pleasant family invasion with the aid of my Zinnia Blanket. It’s been a great comfort and stress reducer in so many ways! I don’t want it to end, but my New Year’s Resolution was to not cast on any more Zinnia experiments until at least one is finished. Sadly, I already foresee some trouble keeping it, as  I keep imagining new variations and can’t wait to try them!

One of my current Zinnia experiments, the colours are glorious!

One of my current Zinnia experiments, the colours are glorious!

I’m very happy to be in the Zinnia zone: my husband is still intermittently quite unwell, which is nerve-wracking (read inordinately stressful and worrisome), and communing with Zinnia has helped me hugely. I don’t feel like knitting anything else currently, and am entertaining myself with new Zinnia-type design ideas instead!

Wishing you a warm and flower-filled knitting season! Let us knit on, together.

Lucy

 

8 Responses to “Wishing You a Warm and Flower-Filled Start to the New Year!”

  1. hockeyirene Says:

    Oh, Lucy,

    I AM sorry about the continued concern for your husband health – nerve-wracking indeed. Good thing for the Zinnia! All the best for 2014 to you and your family!

    In Peace,

    Irene

  2. bam Says:

    Zinnia and kitty purrs, the ultimate de-stresser. May your husband find good health this coming year. That would be the greatest gift to us all.
    bam

  3. Janet Payne Says:

    Hope the New Year brings better health for John, best wishes & warm thoughts for him.
    I can see why Zinnia would be so calming it is absolutely beautiful!
    Happy Knitting
    Janet, Kamloops

  4. Linda Says:

    So sorry to hear of your husband’s ill health which I hope will improve in 2014. Wishing you “Happy Stitches” and sending positive thoughts your way.

  5. uvocca Says:

    Prayers for your husband as well as you. Ursula in Maine

    Sent from my iPad

    >


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,778 other followers