Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Island Life of Another Sort January 14, 2014

Lobster boats at the dock

I love islands and island communities! Most of you have probably guessed as much from my ramblings about Big Tancook Island just off the Nova Scotia coast, where I go to recharge my batteries. On North America’s other coast, I have enjoyed the famous and Gulf  and  San Juan Islands (home of Cat Bordhi and her wonderful residential camps). What I have learned from my island visits over the years is that each has its own unique character and surprises.

Image

A few years ago I had the opportunity to visit Mackinac Island in Lake Huron, at the bind-off tip of the Michigan mitten. Not unexpectedly, this island community turned out to be another one-off, quite different from all the rest.

Image

The surprise: no motorized transport is allowed in the summer months!  All transportation is either horse- or human-powered. The horses commute seasonally to the island for their employment. As you can imagine, there are all sorts of fascinating details entailed by this transportation situation!

You may now imagine my delight when the invitation came for me to teach on this island in May of this year.  How could I resist? Of course I didn’t.

The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island will be hosting its annual Needle Arts Seminar in May

The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island will be hosting its annual Needle Arts Seminar in May

The Grand Hotel, and I do mean GRAND, hosts a very special four-day needlework weekend at the start of the season each year, and they have just opened bookings. I’ll be teaching two of my favourite classes: one day of double-knitting and a THREE DAY class on my Venus Rising Cardigan. The Venus class is a veritable feast of empowering techniques, and the opportunity to spend three full days with the same gang of students opens the door to all kinds of exploration.
If you possibly can, please join me – this will be a very special event (with some fabulous world-famous quilters, too) that should appeal to those knitters who love quirky with comfort. There will be plenty of nature and outdoor opportunities, as well.  For more information, contact Jackie Compton: needleart@grandhotel.com

For you other island junkies: I recently watched Martin Clunes’ documentary on British islands. Very interesting.  I had no idea there were so many inhabited islands dotted around the UK, John and I may have some exploring  to do during our next family visit!

Muckle Fulga -- I may just have to visit here one day!

Muckle Fulga — I may just have to visit here one day!

 

4 Responses to “Island Life of Another Sort”

  1. Linda Says:

    A very interesting blog post Lucy. I too watched Martin Clunes British Isles documentary and like you, I had not realized how many little British out Islands were inhabitated by humans. Looked a great way of life and just a little like boat life!

  2. Shelagh in Vermont Says:

    Ahh Muckle Flugga. You MUST go to Shetland some day. I have been three times and would go back again in a heartbeat! The people are wonderful, scenery absolutely unique, hiking superb, bird life amazing. I could go on and on – obviously. Shelagh.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,778 other followers