Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

DVD Editing March 18, 2009

Filed under: DVDs,General Musings — happystitches @ 12:53

It’s editing week. It’s been wall to wall concentration every day: I’ve had to put everything else (workshop notes, emails and life: apologies to all!) on hold in order to maintain my concentration. I’m really trying to get all four titles sequenced and edited before I leave again in ten days time. Then they will go to Peter Gaskin for indexing and the next level of editing.

It’s painstaking work but the time is well invested. This is the third year of editing with Rob Tough; he joined us in the second season. He’s great and shows knitting tendencies. It has been rumoured a couple of the crew have a scarf challenge going on before next year. Rob and I have developed a fairly smooth system of working: once we have put the content of each disc in sequence (far easier said than done: sorting 12 different tubular cast-on clips, each cast-on worked with pink and blue yarn and only subtly different from another) and differentiated the exact beginning and end of each topic and sub-topic, these are recorded onto a temporary disc with a time-code embedded.

I then go off and watch every second of each clip, noting on a Google Doc any necessary captions and a time code for all vocal edits (uums, ahhs, stumbles and double words are the most common). I have streamlined this by using two Mac laptops – one to play on and the other to access the internet. It takes an age and you have to maintain full concentration. It’s not even possible to do the simplest knitting. Munching and drinking are my mainstays. Each clip takes about double its actual time length to get through: I dearly wish the discs were not 3 hours long. Did I ever  overshoot  this year!

Today, as a reward for all this, I’m taking a day off to start my migration to the  island and my new double life. It seems fitting that I’m writing this on a tiny ferry on the anniversary of my dad’s death. I remember the date (and the dreadful phone call) easily, but no longer the exact year. It’s been a long while now. I have a feeling that he’d approve of me trying to reconnect with my watery roots once again.

Maybe in a little while I’ll even find a way to keep a boat out on the island. For now, though, I’ll nibble away at the logistical challenge of moving into a cottage on an island only accessible by a foot ferry and no island transport other than the kindness of friends. So, one Mini’s worth at a time, I plan to move!
 
It’s a heavenly day. For all that I love skiing, those first few days when you feel the power coming back to the sun, and witness the retreat of the snow-and-grey ice monoliths, are very uplifting. I had planned to come out tomorrow, but the weather will be back to normal then and there is little point in being self-employed in Nova Scotia unless you flex with the weather. Seize the cycling, camping and skiing weather as it presents and work with gusto when the wind howls and the precipitation is liquid. This does have the effect that I have a very high proportion of working days. Good job that I don’t live in California!

Lucy

 

8 Responses to “DVD Editing”

  1. Knitasha1968 Says:

    I’m so excited you’ve got a blog now! It will be fun to learn more about you and your knitting. I’ve been watching both of your sock videos for a while now, and it seems I learn something new with each viewing. Thanks for all you do for the knitting world.

  2. MK Says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere Lucy!

    Hope to see you again in Texas. My husb and I are thinking about coming to NS in the fall….In the RV, of course.

    Enjoy your day!

  3. Dagmar Eriksson Says:

    After reading about the DVD editing it occurred to me that they are very reasonably priced treasures to own. I feel fortunate to be able to learn from you Lucy whenever and where ever I plop into a chair to knit along with you. Thank you for all your hard work.

    Dagmar

  4. WonderMike Says:

    It’s so very nice to see you blogging.

    Thanks for sharing your DVD work process (or a very tiny part of it) with us, your fans! Good luck and speedy production.

    I hope your island vacation/migration is most rejuvenating.

  5. Tricia Says:

    Lovely to see you’ve started blogging, I shall add you to my reading list! I’m sorry the DVDs take so much work, but I for one am very grateful as I find them incredibly useful. The effort and care you put into them is obvious and they are very much appreciated. I use tips and tricks from the DVDs (and the class I took with you in Norfolk last November) in my knitting all the time, and it has certainly improved as a result. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your move, and hope it goes well.

  6. revknits Says:

    Welcome to WordPress, Lucy. I’m so glad to hear about your DVDs coming out. I think I’m going to buy your new knitter one to lend out to friends when they want to learn to knit!

  7. tmarie Says:

    Woohoo! Glad to see you’re blogging.

    Sorry to hear the DVDs are such a chore–but don’t stop! I love them and can’t wait for the newest to arrive.

    I look forward to hearing about your island adventure.

  8. Gigidahling Says:

    Yeay, Lucy! I am so excited to read your blog. It makes you feel close by, and I can’t wait to peek and see what new things you are up to on a regular basis.


Leave a Reply

