Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Back home… in limbo June 18, 2009

Filed under: Adventure Knitting,DVDs,General Musings — happystitches @ 13:44

Now that I’m back, I’m feeling in limbo: Prior to departing for Ecuador there were emails flying, edits, viewing, deadlines and everything relating to the DVDs coming to a boil. In my absence, the final adjustments have been made and the discs have gone to the manufacturers in Montreal. There is nothing more I can do, except wait with fingers crossed; it feels weird. We have prepped our envelopes for shipping the pre-orders, checked our lists and generally readied ourselves for the day the discs turn up on the doorstep.

In the meantime, I have found a new mission: to do some field research for our next Adventure Knitting Camp in October at White Point Beach in Nova Scotia. I want to find new craft destinations for our day out and make the final decision on where we should go for our hiking day.

I’ve decided to split my trip notes for the blog into a number of sections, with appropriate photos, over the next little while. It just wasn’t possible to keep posting and sending pictures in sequence from South America, as the internet availability was very wobbly and intermittent.

It’s going to be very hard to choose from the hundreds of pictures! (1200 ish between Susan and I after the easy editing.) I’m culling vigorously; thank heavens for iPhoto. This will be a real test of my determination to sort the pictures and label them. There are an awful lot of amazing scenery shots, yet one lump of volcanic rock looks much like another after a while, so geo tagging will be both challenging and worthwhile. I think the pleasure from this trip will persist a long time!

Just to whet your appetite, here are a couple of Galapagos shots for you. In this magical environment, even I with a small point-and-click digital camera one begins to feel like Yousuf Karsh!.

Wavey Albatross on South Plaza Island (the only place on earth they land and breed).

Wavey Albatross on South Plaza Island (the only place on earth they land and breed).

The headland off which the fledged albatrosses launch themselves (hang glider style) for their first 5 years of flying.

The headland off which the fledged albatrosses launch themselves (hang glider style) for their first 5 years of flying.

A pile of marine iguanas.

A pile of marine iguanas.

 

One Response to “Back home… in limbo”

  1. Hi Lucy, what proportion of a knitting adventure expedition would be accessible by wheelchair? I’m thinking Nova Scotia might be more possible for me than the Galapagos. I’m asking in case funds allow me to have a bit of an adventure myself this year :-}


Leave a Reply

