Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

DVD troubles July 5, 2009

Filed under: DVDs,General Musings — happystitches @ 18:50

Travelogue briefly interrupted.

Those of you who have been following along with us for a while will know that we have eagerly awaiting the arrival of this season’s DVD offerings back from the manufacturers. Editing and authoring are all very time consuming and made slower by intermittently being on the road.

You can imagine our delight when a large truck turned up with all three finished discs last week (sometimes they ship them with only one of the titles on board and we continue to have to wait). The tortured waiting was at an end and we immediately prepared to start shipping our pre-ordered discs. However, I decided to take a quick look at the discs and put them through their paces one more time before we shipped any. Imagine if you will the horrible sinking feeling I experienced when I started trying to flip from chapter to chapter and topic to topic and the disc kept freezing. I tried the second double disc and the first four chapters worked beautifully and then I hit the wall.

So after much hassle we have returned the discs to the factory and they have to start again rebuilding the discs correctly. Back to the waiting game. For all of you out there anxiously watching your mail boxes, we will keep adjusting the home page of our web site with the latest news.

I am so glad that I took the time to check once again! If I wish to cheer myself up, I think of the ramifications of having sent out hundreds of defective discs. That’s very scary.

It is only knitting, no one’s life hinges on the date of the arrival of the disc and all will be well eventually.

Lucy

 

7 Responses to “DVD troubles”

  1. Linda Says:

    I agree, better to know now and wait a bit longer than have 100’s of people trying to return defective disks.

    It gives me a some more time to finish up other wips too! 😉

  2. Jasmin Says:

    Great catch! 🙂

  3. Fredda Says:

    Given your attention to detail, I wasn’t surprised that you found the problem. People are willing to wait for Lucy’s knitting knowledge and teaching—always worth the wait!

  4. WonderMike Says:

    We are so fortunate that you did that final quality control check!!! Thanks for being so thorough and we wish you the best with the next round of DVDs.

    Like you said, it’s not life saving medical aid to disaster relief (although sometimes my knitting feels that way)!

    Take care and see you at Sock Summit!!

  5. fibercrone Says:

    Shucks. But thank goodness you checked! You saved all that time packing and labeling, not to mention the cost of shipping materials and postage that would have otherwise been wasted.

    Good save, Lucy.

  6. LynnH Says:

    Oh, Lucy! What a letdown. In the end, you will have your discs, but meanwhile waiting must be very difficult.

    One day at a time. That’s life. My favorite mantra lately is “I’m not in charge.” I can start a project and do my part, but at some point we humans must let go.

    You don’t have a DVD factory of your own, and your work is clearly dependent on a team. There are so many things that can hiccup! This time a hiccup occurred. How good that you took the time to check it out!

    I will see you at Sock Summit. It should be the grandest of times, don’t you think?

    LynnH in Lansing, MI

  7. Ginny Says:

    sighhhhhhhhhhhhh, I do appreciate not receiving a defective gift. But I’m SOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited about starting my Venus Rising and can hardly wait!! The yarn calls to me each night when I get home and I have to sooth it by saying “not yet dear” 🙂


Leave a Reply

