Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Cottage DIY – the Sanding Saga August 14, 2009

Filed under: Tancook Cottage — happystitches @ 20:51
Tags: ,

Floor sanding day dawned foggy and damp as ever and found me eagerly on the 1030 ferry, hoping like mad that the sander was already aboard as promised by the hardware store, but I could see no sign of it. Some 50 minutes later we arrived at the dock and magically a cargo tray was off loaded bearing the sander and a plentiful supply of pads and sand papers of differing grits (it is no good running out on an island). All systems go. The aim was to be finish the sanding and have the machine back on the 1330 ferry the following day.

My good buddy Harley was waiting for me on the dock with his truck to convey the sander to the cottage. We drove exceptionally slowly as apparently one of the wheels on the truck was in a more than usually delicate condition. (No tax, insurance or MVI is required for island vehicles, leading to a heavy reliance on duct tape for body work repair.)

Sanding commenced in the early afternoon and Harley most kindly offered his assistance. The small amount of remaining paint almost immediately gummed up the first sheet of sandpaper so Harley took it in turns scraping yet more paint whilst the other sanded with the machine in a virgin wood area. There are still tell tale signs of the former paint embedded in the planks but it really isn’t noticeable until one stands vertically above the formerly painted areas.

We sanded and scraped for many hours and thankfully the old varnish around the edge of the main room was not nearly so stubborn, it simply powdered away which was a great relief. All of a sudden I was starving hungry and I discovered that it was 2100, no wonder! A scrumptious and fast dinner of bacon, eggs and tomatoes was served.

The following day was dedicated to staining, varnishing (and getting the sander back on the ferry). At last I could begin to get an impression of what the final result would be. I had planned my coats of varnish to try and complete 2 or 3 coats before I had to leave the island. However, I optimistically based my plans on the 5 hour reapplication time based on 70F and 50% humidity mentioned in the micro print, they didn’t give an estimate for 55F and 98% humidity! I panicked slightly when the floor was still sticky in the morning, wondering if I had committed some cardinal error in my application and that I was going to be condemned to sticky floors for life or having to start again. The paranoia of the amateur handy person!

By waiting till much later in the day I was able to put one last coat on before my departure. So you can imagine my trepidation / eagerness to see the finished result on my next trip.

Those of you attending my Adventure Knitting Camp will have the opportunity to visit Tancook and inspect my floors first hand and we have heard recently that Ilga Leja will be able to join us for a social evening and show and tell at White Point Beach. Ilga was my first knitting contact in Canada, in fact she visited me whilst I was still trapped in the hotel in Halifax with three small children in March ’92.

 

5 Responses to “Cottage DIY – the Sanding Saga”

  1. Anne Says:

    It looks lovely! Once my Dad painted a wall in January and wondered why it still looked so shiny when it was supposed to be matte… A few weeks later the paint finally unfroze and dried.

  2. Punkin Says:

    The floor looks great. Your cottage is lovely.

  3. Suzie Says:

    Hi! I just popped over after I saw the sock hole in the Yarn harlot’s sock. Is there a pre-published place I can read up on the method, or is it just a bind off cast on thingy?

    P.S. Good luck with the remodel, we are just coming to the end of a big one!

    Suzie

    • Hi Suzie,
      It’s my favorite scallop style hole. It appears in the sock I did for Knitters about 18 months ago, erroneously titled ‘Bosnian Toes and Turkish Heels’ and in profusion in our loose pattern “Almost Saintly Socks’ (because they are so holey).
      Happy stitches,
      Lucy


Leave a Reply

