Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Bookless in Lansing October 9, 2009

Filed under: books,Knitting Travels — happystitches @ 13:39

From Lansing airport in MI.

Here I am, bookless in Lansing. I hate being without a reserve supply of reading material. I finished my book for the trip yesterday morning: that is the downside of bringing an excellent and totally engrossing book with you (Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen: a wonderful novel about the traveling circus-train era told by a very elderly man reliving his youth; action-packed with a delightful twist in the tail.). It certainly does divert one from a hotel existence, but sadly the end comes far too fast. Last night I listened to Peter Duck by Arthur Ransome whilst I knit. Despite having read it many times, I was still too engrossed to go to bed at a reasonable time. It’s not bad as an audio book, although it’s  an awful shame that no one took the time to instruct the narrator (who otherwise does a good job of reading this book) on her nautical pronunciation. It’s really only about ten words (that are repeated throughout) that she massacres, but it does demonstrate that she doesn’t really understand what she is reading. This book is all about sailing and the sea and someone should surely have noticed this?

There was no opportunity to find another book yesterday and I had bargained on having time today in Chicago’s O’Hare airport to be able to browse for a replacement between flights. Unfortunately, I now find that my flight from Lansing is delayed by an hour and this will make even catching my next flight doubtful: however,  if I miss the flight I will have plenty of time to find a new book!

I have just finished three days of teaching at Threadbear in Lansing. If you haven’t visited here yet, this a large yarn shop with a vast range of yarns waiting to tempt you. I was very impressed by the students who attended: they were all very well prepared, considerate with their cell phones and knew without having to be reminded when it was OK to chat and when to listen so that everyone could get the maximum value from the time. I suspect that they have been schooled in workshop etiquette over the years as many of them are regular attendees to the impressive slate of workshops that TB offers throughout the year. Thank you all!

PS I had just enough time to pick up Julia Child’s My Life in France – I’ll keep you posted.

 

6 Responses to “Bookless in Lansing”

  1. jen coyle Says:

    My Life in France is soooo great! I think you will really enjoy it.

  2. Enjoyed your blog.

    Thank goodness for airport bookstores! Water for Elephants was wonderful.

  3. Evelyn Says:

    Kindle! I know it’s just one more gadget, but it means you will never be without reading material again. I’m a compulsive reader and would not want to be without it. Plus, at 10.2 ounces, it weighs less than a hardcover book and takes up much less space, important when traveling.

  4. I loved the book “My life in France”, but the food Julia Child describes in it did not appeal to me at all. I’m curious to know what you will think about the food. 🙂

  5. Joni Says:

    I second the Kindle suggestion. I traveled to Italy for 2+ weeks and had 45 books to choose from on my lightweight electronic device. It is ideal for travel when one needs to pack light but have lots of options available. Mine is an older version but the newest Kindles have the option of audio which would be useful while knitting.

  6. Dorothy Says:

    Someone else who knows about and reads Arthur Ransome! I’ve managed, through the internet, to collect a copy of all the Swallows and Amazon books (and give my dad back his books that I had quietly snitched). I read through the series every year or so.


Leave a Reply

