Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Back, in overdrive November 25, 2009

Filed under: General Musings — happystitches @ 20:12

I’m back. My mind is in overdrive, I’m making lists. Copious lists. Lists of my lists might well be in order. All the things I want to finish, books, patterns, new knitting, old knitting, the backlog of reading, the web site, new design ideas, Christmas stuff for the UK (I leave in less than two weeks on my annual pilgrimage to visit my mother), Christmas presents for friends and family, things that need to be written, preparations for the Open House on Dec 5th (all welcome BTW). Helping Sue plan the Venus Rising KAL, sorting out the paperwork from this trip and resisting the siren song of the pesky fabric that I brought home.

I’m like a cat on a hot tin roof and don’t know where to begin.

I have also returned fired up with Double Knitting passion and at last I’m determined to modify the preliminary design and hopefully finish the formerly named Polo mittens (in the UK Polos are a mint candy similar in shape to Lifesavers).


This would also give the the added benefit of small portable knitting for the UK trip. But this morning I thought of an even more intriguing variation – ‘spotty’ socks. More on these later.

I’m also determined to write a pattern for dissimilar sided DK. It will be a scarf with the edge borders having differing motifs so that there isn’t too much tricky knitting. I think I found the perfect yarn for this at Sock Summit, I’ll be off to my stash later!

I’m back to my daily regime of watching one or two Adobe Illustrator tutorials on Lynda.com with my breakfast. I never cease to be amazed at the sophistication of this program. Each clip I think before starting ‘isn’t going to have much relevance to me’ but frequently I finish impressed and empowered!

 

6 Responses to “Back, in overdrive”

  1. Petra Says:

    Love the mittens. They are so colorfull!

  2. I have been thinking of investing in Adobe Illustrator, I am going to LOVE Lynda.com!
    Thanks Lucy, and happy travelling!

  3. margaret england Says:

    hi….love the look of that mitt!! can’t wait to dk. have a great trip to see mum….

  4. Diana Paterson Says:

    Fabulous Mitten.

    You need a test knitter … pick me, pick me!!!!!

    Can’t wait for the pattern to come out!

  5. crystal Says:

    I am soooo going to stalk your site for the pattern to those mittens! 1 1 1

  6. luana Says:

    I hope you make a second dvd on Double Knitting. It haunts me even in the night. I wake up with ideas running around in my head. I love DK dearly and would like to work different patterns on each side. Also it would be cool to invent a dvd that has the whole chart set up and color coded each side and you could tick off the rows as you do them and know right where you were at.
    I know, I am dreaming.
    I would really like a tutorial on how to do it with different colors on a large flat (like bedspread) piece but not working with the two yarns at once but only one each side. Probably muddled this so you don’t see what I mean, but I would really like to see what ever you come up with.
    Thanks for all the inspiration you stir in me.
    Luana


Leave a Reply

