Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Thank you dear knitter! March 22, 2010

Filed under: DVDs,Knitting tips and hints — happystitches @ 13:29

Dear, dear, knitter! You’ve made my day, week and quite possibly my month! Thank you!

I’ve just had a phone call from a wonderfully ecstatic knitter. She was so totally thrilled with all the knitting discoveries she has made after watching our Knitting Essentials 1 and 2 DVD’s, that she’d like to own the entire set (including The Brand New Knitter). “Bubbling with delight and excitement” hardly sums up her euphoric state. It certainly rubs off: all of us were enriched by her enthusiasm!

She had a request for us: do we have a subscription service? Could we possibly send her one DVD a month? I agreed that we could do this for her, which appeared to make her day, too.

In the past I had thought in passing of offering this service, but quailed at the paperwork. I didn’t see any great advantage for the subscriber; but on reflection, once the order is sent and you’ve listed the titles you currently own (and you only have to do this once), we could take care of it from there. (Love those spreadsheet programs.) Once a month a new and thrilling installment of knitting intrigue would wing its way to your door, giving you time to watch and digest before the next one arrives. We’d be happy to do this for you, too. I shall talk nicely to Susan to instigate this service.. Watch our website for news on this.

A heartfelt THANK YOU to all who have taken the time to let us know when we’ve made a difference! We really appreciate you, too. I am obviously in this knitting and teaching field for way more reasons than to earn a fabulous living, and knowing I have empowered yet another knitter makes the inevitable drudge-work associated with writing and editing much easier to deal with.

UPDATE: Our DVD subscription service is up and running. You can print a DVD subscription form here.

Knitting Q&A

We frequently receive interesting technical questions from our customers and, when I find a moment, I enjoy puzzling out the answers and how to explain the situation. (I just wish I could type more efficiently and accurately.) Knitters’ questions are what have fueled the material for many of the DVD topics; they help me to gauge where the knowledge gaps are! I have been collecting the paraphrased questions (no identity will be revealed) and answers and have decided to add them into the blog periodically for your delectation.

Q. Why does my ribbing look wobblier when I go from a knit stitch to a purl stitch, at the left edge of a column of knits?

A. This can be due to a number of causes but one of the most common is that there is more yarn used going from a knit to a conventional purl than vice versa.

From a knit to a purl the yarn exits the knit at the back of the right-hand needle and then comes between the needles, goes diagonally up over the top of the RHN before it goes into the purl, giving a spare diagonal ‘yarn-under’ between the stitches. This yarn then becomes sucked into the adjacent stitches making them wobbly or causing a slight gap between the stitches.

From a purl to a knit, the yarn exits the purl at the front of the right-hand needle and then comes between the needles and across to the left (parallel to the needle) and into the knit. This is a shorter distance!

Experiment by knitting an inch of rib normally, then an inch of rib rotating the yarn for the purl stitches the opposite way around the needle (work into these mis-mounted stitches on the next row so they untwist), and then another inch, this time giving the yarn a little tug as it goes from a knit to a purl (and keep the stitches just worked and about to be worked close together when taking the yarn from one to another): I suspect that you will see a significant difference in the rib.

I have filmed some footage on this subject on a couple of my DVDs: Knitting Gems 2 (The Mysterious Gully) and Knitting Venus 1 (Alternatively Mounted Stitches)

Happy stitches all,
Lucy

 

4 Responses to “Thank you dear knitter!”

  1. Lenora Says:

    Absolutely fascinating explanation! I love the way you deconstruct the movement of yarn and explain why we sometimes get a wonky look. Keep the hints coming.

  2. Cheryl Waters Says:

    Oh, I think a subscription idea is wonderful! I’ve been trying to figure out ways to buy the DVDs I don’t have in one fell swoop, but I really like the idea of a subscription. Thank you, Lucy!

  3. Melissa G Says:

    I still vividly remember the short-rows class and how (happily) the other alternative purl-er and I were sitting next to each other. Your explanations and teaching are not only enlightening but fun!

  4. I think a subscription service is a brilliant idea!


Leave a Reply

