Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Mille-Feuille shawl pattern is done! April 5, 2010

Filed under: Knitting Topics,Pattern highlight — happystitches @ 20:09

The Mille-Feuille shawl and scarf pattern is out!

This has been a really fun project and rather interestingly it was entirely due to two different public spirited bits of knitting. The first incarnation of the shawl was for Kathleen when she was diagnosed with cancer. All her friends got together and made her a blanket in record quick time and my blanket square had holes in it.

Kathleen and her blanket.

When Zina of Another Long Yarn requested a square for her knit-a-long in support of Knit-A-Square (a project of KAScare.org) I developed a variation on this idea using Kauni and it looked so pretty that I wanted to do more.

My Knit-A-Square knit in Kauni Effektgarn.

This shawl is a first in many ways: My first collaboration with Diane as the test knitter, I drafted out the pattern so she could make a start on the repetitive knitting and before I knew it was back with me. I took the shawl away with me to Mount Tremblant (a looong drive), knitted and worked out the details for the back of neck gusset and final borders. This is also one of our first new patterns entirely photographed by the amazing Hillary Dionne on Big Tancook Island and stars our new model Katie. I completed all the layout in InDesign myself for first time (that may be evident to some), it’s another steep learning curve but it’s great to finally have the control of all the details and it was completed in record time!

Playful Katie.

Beautiful layers of colour.

Lots of crispy layers and no calories!

Thank you to all of you that have been involved.

We are all experimenting with other colourways here and we’ve yet to find an ugly one!

 

6 Responses to “Mille-Feuille shawl pattern is done!”

  1. Zina Says:

    Oooh, it’s gorgeous!

  2. Virginia Says:

    That’s lovely! (Both the blanket and the shawl)

    I love the bright colors on both. They make me very happy.

  3. Rebecca Says:

    Yum! It looks like watermelon.

  4. Brenda Says:

    Yes, it does look like watermelon. And a very interesting shape.

  5. Melissa G Says:

    What a unique shape, beautiful!

  6. It is very hard for me to choose a favorite from among your patterns, but this one may just be it. Gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

