Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Musings from On the Road April 19, 2010

Filed under: Knitting Travels — happystitches @ 13:14

Musings from On The Road..

I’m currently on a three state trip. I’ve just left Concord, New Hampshire and the ever-hospitable Elegant Ewe, and am now enjoying Twist Knitting in New Hope, PA.  After this I’m off to Minnesota for the weekend. The blossoms are bountiful and bird song is gorgeous here in Pennsylvania: it will be interesting to see if my daffodils in the Great White North are out by the time I get home! (Although we had a much warmer and altogether nicer March than anyone living can remember, April has turned chilly again, with most nights dipping below freezing.)

Both Twist Knitting and Spinning and The Elegant Ewe are lively well-run stores in really interesting little towns. They both have wonderful yarn stocks, as well as offering spinning fibers and wheels, all in addition to their extensive knitting supplies and knowledgeable staff. The addition of spinning supplies has been a good idea, as having both widens the customer base:  many knitters are secretly lusting to master the art of spinning. I am currently a lapsed spinner, but I do value what I learned about twist and yarn construction during my spinning period;  it certainly comes in handy  in assessing the performance I might expect from any particular yarn. Do play with a spindle some time! There is something truly meditative about a good spinning session, and it is now widely accepted that learning something new does wonders for your brain cells.

 

One Response to “Musings from On the Road”

  1. Ruth Says:

    We are doing some traveling in Nova Scotia in late May. I expect we will arrive in Halifax around May 26 or 27. I remember watching in one or two of your videos a particular yarn store in the background–I wanted to go there. How would I find it? Any other recommendations for a knitter in Halifax (who is traveling with her non-knitting husband.) Thanks for your nice blog.


Leave a Reply

