Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

TNNA gets going June 15, 2010

Filed under: Knitting Travels — happystitches @ 13:55

Today TNNA really gets going; yesterday’s frantic activity was just a warm up! Today is booth set-up for all the exhibitors: in between teaching classes and attending various meetings I’ll be giving my main US distributors, Up North Fiber Arts Supply, a hand with their booth.  I’m going into this whole extravaganza with a determination to write everything down, so I know what I talked about with whom and what I agreed to do when. (Famous last words.) It’s very easy to go around collecting business cards and not remember the relevance of anything to real life once I get home. Coupled with this are the mental gymnastics required when meeting so many friends gathered here from all over the place, but no one is in their proper location; it makes keeping everything straight very challenging.

Kuku Dolls

I’ve been through the floor plan and tried to mark all the booths that I’d like to visit: this is going to involve a lot of hiking.

Hotel Living

I always find Columbus very hot, which is a true energy-sapper. Thank goodness for air conditioning. (I’m just not designed to function above 80F.) Now I had better sort out my in room filing system before my assistant arrives tonight. After that I will look forward to again enjoying one of the highlights of being in Columbus: the North Street Market. It’s a great place to eat. I always makes me wish I lived in Columbus, so that I could really buy food to cook there. It’s a seven-day-a-week farmer’s market and a total treat.

North Street Market

The wonderful Brewery Market in Halifax is just about to be moved to a larger multi-day location. There is a lot of debate in Halifax as to how farmers can man a booth more than one day a week. Many of them drive many hours to bring their produce to market on a Saturday, but the current location, quaint though it is, becomes very claustrophobic after the first hour of early trading. Fingers crossed.

 

3 Responses to “TNNA gets going”

  1. Susan Says:

    My son went to Columbus College of Art and Design and I learned to love Columbus, particularly High Street, North Market, the Botanical Gardens and German Village. I am not much of a city person, but Columbus is great. He is now in Baltimore, not such a lovable city.

  2. Lydia Says:

    What a beautiful vest you are wearing, is it your own design?


Leave a Reply

