Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Quintessentially English? August 24, 2010

Filed under: General Musings — happystitches @ 13:12

I’m just back from a visit to the UK and I took the opportunity to visit my mother. She lives in north Norfolk, in a little town called Aylsham. I adore this place: every time I visit I wander around in awe, as it is so totally English. I can see from the buildings and architecture the antiquity. But what is it about the people? Admittedly many of them are antique too, but they are still out shopping in town, with their baskets and canes, not hidden away the way they seem to be here. Why can you look at a person, take away the surroundings, and still reckon that they are English?

Bishop's summer residence to care facility.

Aylsham Manor

On this trip, I happily discovered Carousel Chocolates on Red Lion Street. This is a newly opened shop (in the last couple of years), yet looks as if it’s been there forever!


It would be the perfect tuck shop to serve the Hogwarts community!

 

2 Responses to “Quintessentially English?”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    I just finished your Fiesta Feet, which I had wanted to knit for years. I was confused with the set up of the foot. I’m not sure I did it right. The numbers did’nt seem to work for 64 sts. I’m okay with socks of different lengths (because of different stitch count on the foot).My feet are different anyway. No need to explain, I’m finished. I’m happy with them and will move on to different patterns.

    You’re a crazy woman, in a good way.

    • Lucy Neatby Says:

      Sorry to hear that you had a challenge with the set up with the foot. I promise it does work, possibly you missed a single stitch increase somewhere. In all that text it is easy so to do.
      Happier stitches from here on! Lucy


Leave a Reply

