Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Packing and shipping decisions November 22, 2010

Filed under: books — happystitches @ 23:22
Tags:

The last few straggling Cool Knitters Finish in Style books, mailed on November 1st, seem to be arriving in the US at last (Nov 16th). It’s amazing how slow letter mail is between Canada and the US!  I am hoping that they have all arrived safely and in good condition. We had a considerable debate here at the office as to how best to mail and package them. Just for your entertainment, here are our factors in making final choices when mailing:

We were happy that the book weighed in at just over 400g, which put it into the category of an oversized letter, provided we didn’t pack it in a padded mailing envelope which would make it too thick for this class. Letter shipping would then be $7.00 per book to the US. Mailing by this method, the envelopes could then be run through the postage meter before stuffing. But would this envelope protect the book sufficiently?  In order to try to prevent damage, I looked for heavier paper envelopes but came up empty-handed, so decided to fold the excess envelope over and tape the envelope end for end and side to side for protection, and then to hand the fate of the package over to the whims of the postal gods.

Remaining under 500g but with a padded envelope would boost the price to $9.50 (plus the envelope cost), and if that made it go over 500g, it would become the next category of small packet at $14.50. An additional cost of small packets over letter mail is that all small packet mail has to have the address and mailing information re-entered into the Canada Post shipping program. We have not been able to find a way to enter this data into our accounting software (Quickbooks) and then to share it with Canada Post. Canada Post’s software is quite remarkable: with every upgrade it becomes more cumbersome and difficult to use. Working with Apple products has evidently spoiled me!

So my questions to you are:
Did your book arrive in a satisfactory condition?
Would you have liked the option to spend more on shipping for a padded envelope and the consequent increase in postage rate?

I hope you feel that we have made the right choice for you. I felt that spending $10.50 to have a $19.95 book shipped is not what you would like.

If you are lucky enough to have one, please support your local yarn store and save on the shipping.

This book is also available in a green and economical format as a .pdf, either directly from us or from Patternfish.  Save time in line with gift-purchasing: we’ll be happy to send your gift of the book to third party recipients on your behalf.

Thank you for your support and Happy Thanksgiving stitches to our US readers.

 

13 Responses to “Packing and shipping decisions”

  1. Kris Says:

    My book arrived in the wilds of the Colorado Rockies in perfect condition! It has already gained the “Velveteen Rabbit” look, with sticky tags, bits of paper, and a decidedly well-looked-through edge. Thank you so much for getting it to me in such great shape!

  2. Jane Says:

    My book arrived (not to the US, but all the way to BC) in perfect condition.

  3. Robin Says:

    My book arrived in Michigan in great condition. Since I ALWAYS look for the cheapest shipping selection possible I’m grateful that you didn’t have to go with the heavier/larger package pricing.

    I’m already very happy that I decided to purchase both the pdf and print versions of this book. Thanks for putting so much useful, needed information together in your easy to read style!

  4. Jeanine Says:

    Mine arrived here in QC in perfect condition (and surprisingly quickly for CP). No, I would much rather spend money on stuff than on packaging.

    I, too, have the pdf and the book and the combination is great: the pdf for searching (as you said) and printing out explanations that I can scribble on (those challenging one-row buttonholes!) and the book for bath and bed.

  5. Lab Cat Says:

    My book arrived in DE in perfect condition and is living on my nightstand. I can’t wait to try some of your ideas and swatches out. I hope to make time in January, if I can wait that long.

  6. Lucy — mine arrived in great condition in Southern California las week and I do appreciate the thought that goes into keeping shipping prices low. Looking forward to reading the print version!

    Best,
    Caroline

  7. Sarah Says:

    My book arrived in California in great condition. I’m very happy with it! I have been carrying it around in my bag to show off and reading it in bed at night, and it’s even holding up well to that, but that’s not what you asked.

  8. Sarah Says:

    Oh, and I love that you offered the option to get the PDF version right away and the book when it was ready–thank you for that!

  9. Elizabeth D Says:

    Book made it to Pennsylvania uneventfully — and quickly!! I, too, liked being able to get the PDF right away. But still need the book to carry around (the phone screen is just too small to read when out knitting with friends!)

  10. Thanh Thao Nguyen Says:

    Dear Lucy, I am Thao from Australia, will the book cool knitters finished in style be on DVD?. Also, is there a double knitting delight number 2? as there was a number 1, which is my favourite. I hope in the future you will make a dvd on sweater designs and how to knitt them with different styles of collars and pockets.

  11. Pat Says:

    My book arrived (in windy and snowy western Washington) in perfect condition. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

