Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

United by Colour June 3, 2011

Filed under: General Musings — happystitches @ 13:13

I had a very interesting encounter recently whilst waiting to have the new paint colours for my office mixed. Most of the time I am blissfully unaware of the colour of my hair and the effect that it has on people. On this particular day I was comparatively quietly dressed in mostly green, but I had forgotten the hair.

The lady next to me was a naturally bright and bubbly soul with a brightly coloured scarf. As I stood in line, I happened to view the colours she had chosen – they were wild, intense and vibrant. I was impressed, and before I knew it, we were in deep conversation as to how to achieve similar shades in hair colour and how we both loved to use bright colours at home. She approved of our new office colours too!

As it turns out, this lady was the well-known Canadian children’s author, Sheree Fitch, who confessed that as we stood there I reminded her most uncannily of her character Mabel Myrtle (who, not surprisingly, loves purple)!

 

4 Responses to “United by Colour”

  1. Kris Says:

    Living with a hubby who is color-blind, but only to certain colors, makes me want to paint everything bright colors! However, guess who says most of them are grey? I need to spend about 3 hours in front of a paint chip display, so he can tell me what colors he CAN see. Having him blithely mix up colors on a wall, because he can’t see the splotch on the lid, is crazy-making! 🙂

  2. Judith in Ottawa Says:

    When my son was small our favorite book was “There Were Monkeys In My Kitchen”, now sadly out of print. I used to buy a copy for every new mum I knew. Sob.

    And if you ever wrote up how you do those delightful blasts of colour in your hair I would print it out and run to get me some purple!

  3. Carol Says:

    Thanks for the reminder of Sheree Fitch. She was a favourite in our house when the girls were small. The best bedtime book, with lots of rhymes to lull little ones to sleep, has to be “Mouse in the House”. I can still recite it, by heart, 5 years after I stopped reading it on a nightly basis!

  4. What a great story! Two kindred spirits. I like the purple high-tops that are on her blog at the moment – purple with pink laces. And I also like how you forget the impression that your hair colour(s) might make on people! You’re obviously so at home with yourself.


Leave a Reply

