Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Have passport, will travel! June 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — happystitches @ 22:05

Mine is a very scattered family. Today I find only 2 out of 5 ‘nearest and dearest’ in Canada (and those not in adjacent provinces). The other 3 are all in different countries, with a total of 3 continents covered.

Crazy. I don’t think our minds evolved to deal with this kind of pack-separation!

 

3 Responses to “Have passport, will travel!”

  1. susanna eve Says:

    i know what you mean. My oldest son is visiting just now but we previously we hadn’t seen him in over a year. he and his wife are planning an itinerant life just now and we don’t know when they will next be back out here.

  2. woollythinker Says:

    My husband and I are from South Africa (but his parents were immigrants, from two different countries). My father is in England (where we now live, though in a different county). My mother and sister in Johannesburg. His mother in Cape Town. His father and brothers in Switzerland. My various aunts, uncles and cousins are in Cape Town, Port Elizabeth (also SA) and England. His are in Germany, Belgium and Switzerland. It’s impossible. We have no chance of ever settling down “near the family”; on the other hand, we do get to pick which bits of family we can actually bear living near, and go there…

  3. Susan Says:

    This past week I like to think of my family as balancing the country. While we were all in the same country only two of the five could be in the same city at the same time. So on Saturday 2 were in Bedford, Nova Scotia, 1 was in Carleton Place, Ontario, 2 were in Vancouver, British Columbia. By Sunday 2 were in Bedford, 2 in Vancouver and 1 in Victoria, British Columbia. I returned home on Tuesday and my husband has moved from Victoria to Vancouver today so there are 3 on one coast and 2 on the other. He’ll then move on to Winnipeg, Manitoba for a week or so and finally home to Nova Scotia again. Sometimes it’s hard to keep up with us all. I do believe we’re helping to keep the airlines in business. 🙂


Leave a Reply

