Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

The Great Purge July 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — happystitches @ 08:36

The Great Purge of 2011 continues: We are still clearing through the piles of stored bundles that are lurking half-hidden all around this house. This project has been going on approximately 10 days now, and I’m not convinced we are anywhere near the end.

Office mess unleashed

All those swatches: it is rather traumatic to throw them out! So many odd socks – as they’re not exactly according to the final pattern, they are absolutely no use as samples. Large swatches of stitch patterns or garment starts, but not worth finishing. On and on it goes.
We are trying to make it all easier by the use of black garbage bags so that I cannot see in and recant.  Back to the coal face …

 

13 Responses to “The Great Purge”

  1. Monique Says:

    It’s ok to let it go. The black bags are a great idea. I am purging and reorganizing as well. It will free you up to create more wonderful designs.

  2. Oh, you are being brave.

  3. Kris Says:

    Oh, please, please please send me those unwanted socks and swatches. The socks can be used for SO many things, including people with casts on a leg , pups with sore paws. The swatches? Seriously, send them on, I’ll make you a cover or two and send them back. Most of the pillows in my house are bits that didn’t make it to full size

    • Julia H Says:

      I couldn’t agree more – don’t waste perfectly good yarn, already knitted up! All sorts of uses for odd socks – I knew someone who used them as golf club covers! Lucy, send the swatches to Kris (not me, I’m too busy, much as I like the idea…). Reduce, Re-Use, Recycle!

      • I’m in total agreement – I contemplated a quilt – but knew I’d never get around to it myself. I have now managed to find a home for quite a number of them – for cat beds or to be deconstructed by children to create yarn.
        I’ll continue to collect the samples and put them in the black bag – but will do my best to give them to someone passing or contact you!
        We are checking people’s bags when they leave to make sure they have yarn, samples or some other redundant item on their person!
        One of the challenges of this project is to re-purpose as many items as possible. I can’t tell you how many paper clips I’ve removed in order to be able to recycle the paper. RRR is our motto too.

  4. Lisa Says:

    And there are likely one-legged/footed folk who would be pleased to receive single socks…I don’t think I know any specific candidates, but I’m sure there’d be interested…

  5. Lisa Says:

    Ahem…”interest”…rather than “interested”…

  6. Paula Durrant Says:

    Lucy … I can’t find an email for you … I orderded three dvd’s last week and I am wondering if you shipped them ? and how long it generally takes for mail from Eastern Canada to Southwestern US … thanks

  7. Jude tarrant Says:

    Well, you are making me feel a little better,but I’m a single person,not a business! They look about the same!

  8. Rachel Says:

    I tend to take the old socks that just can’t be darned anymore (mostly because my skills in that area are lacking) and stuff them in a badly patched sock. Sew up the end and the dog has a new chew toy or add in catnip and the cat has a great toy to attack.

    My the time the socks hit this state the yarn is too far gone to be reclaimed for anything other than a scrap rug for a porch/dog.

  9. Kelie Says:

    I’m thinking of using my old swatches for yarn bombing. I saw some really cute things around the Portland Convention Center. While I don’t think I would ever knit anything specifically for a yarn bomb, if I just grabbed some of my old swatchy things and sewed them onto something it might be kind of fun!


Leave a Reply

