Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

New Style Swatches for In Store Classes March 5, 2012

Filed under: Double-layer knitting,Knitting tips and hints,Pattern highlight — happystitches @ 13:45
Plaid DK Scarf in EFL and HH1 Kauni

Plaid DK Scarf in EFL and HH1 Kauni

Several of the test knitters have commented that they don’t normally swatch, but are finding it most useful for the Snowflake Baby Bonnet: for technique practice as well as gauge determination.

Of late, where possible, I have been writing complete-in-themselves swatches. Complete in the sense that the swatch has a sample of the cast-on method, a couple of pattern repeats, its own small chart and a set of full written directions. My idea behind this is that it both gives gauge and puts the knitter through their paces for each technique required to complete the project. My hope is that doing the swatch will instill confidence, illustrate how to use the charts, and improve the knitter’s technique, all before embarking on the real thing.

These swatches also make great class material for in-store classes. Because of my obsession with technique, I am trying to develop a way to market my patterns to stores as teaching material for mini-classes. (Your suggestions on how to best proceed are welcomed.)

Have a Yarn in Mahone Bay is currently running a very popular knit-along class using my Pinstripe DK Socks pattern.

Pinstripe DK Socks - inside and outside

Pinstripe DK Socks - inside and outside

 

5 Responses to “New Style Swatches for In Store Classes”

  1. Kris Says:

    I was a certified non-swatcher, until a project I was “sure” was okay turned horridly wrong. Now swatches are either sleeve cuffs, sock cuffs, coasters, or, put together from the stash, everything from cat blankets to the case for my laptop. Since they’re fairly quick to make, the swatch stash can be refilled as needed.

  2. Robin Says:

    I teach knitting classes @ a yarn shop and love the idea of mini-classes using your patterns. We have just gotten set up for Ravelry pattern sales which could make it easier to sell on the fly for a class. I have several of your dvds myself and am always recommending them to my students.

    • Let me know if I can assist in any way. My patterns are up on Ravelry for shops now. I’ll have to try and compile a list of patterns with self contained swatches one of these days!

  3. I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    • We are constantly working on the site and do now have our changing slide show open. Just need more hands and to give up sleep to keep up but thank you for your comments. Happy stitches to you.


Leave a Reply

