Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Things are looking up! August 13, 2012

Filed under: General Musings — happystitches @ 08:51


A few days ago, life gave me a plum: Four weeks to the day, the wrist cast has been removed! It came as a bit of a surprise, since someone suddenly moved my appointment forward by two weeks. I’d just this very week mastered the art of driving my stick-shift car, so I was able to go to my rescheduled appointment under my own steam.
I was X-rayed and the cast was removed (which I wasn’t expecting): so there I sat in the waiting room, feeling like a tortoise that had its shell stolen. My lovely hot pink shell!

My newly freed wrist felt a lot worse that I had expected; quite painful, even when doing nothing. Oh dear, no more knitting once again. I was now trying to work out how on earth I would extricate my car from the parking lot and get home, as it seemed unlikely that I’d be able to drive once again, as well. I was rather despondent and stewed considerably!

In the end all was well. I was fitted with an ugly black, but removable, brace. Phew. I was thrilled at the prospect of being able to wash the arm and hand. Small but mighty pleasures. Most importantly, two weeks less in plaster means two weeks less inactivity that I would have to recover from. Things are looking up.
Now I must get on with re-acquainting the wrist with its former lifestyle.

First discovery: The joy of two-handed dental flossing has to be experienced to be believed! I’ve been amazed at the amount of progress the wrist has made in the last few days. It’s still pretty tender, slightly swollen and very stiff, but I’m able to manage without the brace unless I’m doing something critical or strenuous like driving or bed making! I’m doing my stretching exercises as ordered, and can type and knit! In fact, both of these are recommended (they also suggest washing dishes – but I’m not revealing that to anyone other than you).

 

16 Responses to “Things are looking up!”

  1. Hope Says:

    Two week early! The knitter healing mojo is strong for you! 🙂

    So glad the cast is off and your wrist is on its way to a full recovery.

  2. How wonderful! And knitting as therapy, does it get any better?

  3. Louise Whitehead Says:

    Well done Lucy, glad to hear your making progress 🙂

  4. Julia H Says:

    So glad to hear your recovery is ahead of schedule! I bet all the years of knitting have contributed to the rapidity of healing 🙂

  5. Lyn Y Says:

    Good luck with this next stage of recovery. Happy knitting.

  6. Lenora Says:

    Be the tortoise! Slow and stead wins. . .

  7. Bonny Says:

    Awesome! Oh, that IS good news! Just don’t overdo things in expressing your freedom, you can still re-damage or strain your wrist. Remember ice is your friend! Oh and its great for drinks, too 😉

  8. Kris Says:

    How wonderful! Congratulations on being a fast healer!

  9. Karen Shannon Says:

    Lucy Liberation Day! So glad! I wonder if your profession *did* help your bones knit faster? Looking forward to your next book, by the way.

  10. Joan Says:

    Yaaay!!! Congratulations Lucy, happy healing to you!

  11. mk Says:

    Great news Lucy!

  12. pattie Says:

    hallelujah!

  13. NancyW Says:

    Hooray for you !

  14. colormusing Says:

    How’s it feeling today, Lucy?

  15. Robin F. Says:

    Hope your healing continues without setbacks. Great news that you are 2 weeks ahead of schedule.


Leave a Reply

