Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Home Again to Enjoy the Last Gasp of Autumn October 28, 2013

Image

One last glimpse at beautiful British Columbia before heading back East

Following one more slight medical “hiccup” back home, I rebooked my flights out of British Columbia and made it home to Nova Scotia on the red-eye on Sunday night.  I arrived just before noon on Monday and was immensely glad to be back. He was looking rougher than I’ve seen before.

I’m happy to report that he’s improving steadily now (fingers crossed as I write): our patient is on the road to recovery.  He’s healing nicely, his energy is returning and some stitches have now been removed.

Image

I’ve been in a bit of a fog this last week…

 I’ve been in a bit of a fog since my return (those red-eye flights between time zones can really do a person in!), but am finally starting to feel like myself again.  The beginning of the week was filled with paperwork, paying bills and banking (not to mention housework and extra domestic tasks!), but on Thursday  and Friday I was finally able to focus on writing and charting more of the Sunburst DK Blanket pattern and getting a certain ‘albatross’ sock off of the needles. It’s lovely now but has given me every kind of grief being born.

Image

Our local lake in September. The fall foliage is even more glorious now!

 The weather has been delightful since my return.  John and I have taken a few strolls around the lake, admiring the last of the fall foliage.  My gladioli continued to bloom during my time Out West, but I was delighted that they were still in their glory  by the time I got home.

Image

Susan is running a new Knit-Along on Ravelry!

Work at the office has continued apace, with new DK Club members registering every week. I’m very glad I have plenty of new movies queued up for release, I always underestimate the disruptive effects of being on the road.

Happily there continues to be lot of interest in the Video Versions of my “Learn with Lucy” series which may be streamed or downloaded.  For the time being, these titles are still available as DVDs as well, as some of our customers do prefer those.   Susan is running a Knit-Along associated with the DK club over on Ravelry ; this is the season for casting on a double-knit hat!

Image

Susan is a wonderful knitter: here is the Infinite Entrelac Scarf she made for me. She chose just the right colours!

 We’ve decided to try a little experiment with the blog over the next few weeks:  I would love for my readers to get to know the people that make up the Tradewinds team and so have asked some of them to guest-blog here.  I think you’ll love meeting them “in person”; they are a diverse and wonderful bunch, who all have their unique talents to offer Tradewinds—I think we make a pretty good team all in all!  Stay tuned, I’d like to introduce you to my dear friend Susan first…

 

Leave a Reply

