Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Faroese Shawl Success! July 2, 2014

Filed under: General Musings,Pattern highlight,Uncategorized — happystitches @ 06:14

It’s always a debate when writing a pattern, how much information to put it. I try to put in everything you might need, including technique information and options. However, this can backfire, based on the misconception that a long pattern is a complicated pattern. I do wish I could write a ‘cast on and good luck’ style of pattern – it would be so much quicker for me. Thus it is doubly heartwarming when you receive a message like this:

“I’ve had this pattern for a long time, but I’d always been a little (a lot) intimidated by it. I’ve done quite a bit of lace knitting, but somehow the construction of this, with the shoulder ‘pads’ was scary. But after finally frogging another project and getting enough yarn to try it, I sat down and really read the pattern and said, “what the heck?” It was really quite easy, aside from the mass to ride herd on. The only difficulty I had was deciding on the petal trim, whether or not the stitch remaining on the needle after binding off the required stitches was to be counted as one of the nine to be knitted, or not. Turns out, NOT. But frogging back wasn’t bad and after that it was clear sailing and now I have a beautiful shawl to keep me cozy in our cold Colorado winters. Thank you so much for your designs. MS”

BTW This pattern is on sale for half-price this week!

Here’s the lovely result:Faroese Flower Shawl

 

One Response to “Faroese Shawl Success!”


Leave a Reply

