Happy Stitches

Keep your stitches smiling!

Not Quite Round the Horn! February 19, 2016

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 8.49.09

You probably know that I adore boats, right? Long thin narrow ones on the UK canals, great big seagoing cargo ones, ferries both large and small, and especially ones with sails. Anything boat-shaped really. In spite of that, for a number of years I’ve been resisting various tempting offers to teach on cruises to appealing destinations, on the grounds that they don’t really offer enough working days for the length of time away.

FullSizeRender

Woolly excursions!

But now, as part of my newly adopted life policy of  “Sod it, have more fun!”, I just had to say YES to this trip. Imagine my delight at being invited to teach on a 3 week cruise from Buenos Aires to Santiago, taking the inside passage around the tip of South America! Just the names of the ports of call  give me goose bumps; I recall them from my reading the many tales of the old clipper ship days.

IMG_4889

Woolly excursions!

Just to make it even more wonderful, I’ve been given the freedom to make the subject of the classes my favourite topic: Double Layer Knitting. This is the perfect venue to learn and practice, concentrating either on the basics or taking your DK adventures to a new level. The small class size and long duration of the trip will give us lots of scope.

IMG_3360

Delicious Malabrigo yarns!

We will be making knitterly trips while in each port, including to Malabrigo for essential supplies. My delectable project design yarn has just arrived, and I’m hatching up two projects, one small and one larger, so we will have something for everyone!

The larger project will likely be a blanket design. I’m debating as to whether it should be flat or in the round? What do you think?

Craft Cruises Itinerary

I hope you will be able to join me – this is going to be a trip of dreams!

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Not Quite Round the Horn!”

  1. hockeyirene Says:

    Greetings, Lucy!

    How exciting this DK knitting cruise sounds! I was able to fine the prices for the cruise and various rooms, but no information about the charges for your classes. Where or how can I find those? I would love to join you and 24 other knitters to see (and touch – Really?!) penguins along the route. Seems like a perfect First Cruise experience. What fun!

    In Peace, Irene

  2. JoLynn Says:

    Irene, You can find details on the Craft Cruises websight. There is a charge, that includes all the classes or the first series of classes.
    I am signed up for the cruise and the full class schedule. Totally looking forward to the travels. I do have a couple craft cruises scheduled before the South America cruise. I believe, I am addicted.
    JoLynn


Leave a Reply

